The Royal Scots Memorial in West Princes Street Gardens, opposite the Gardener’s Cottage, was unveiled by HRH Princess Mary on 5 August 1952. The memorial comprises a main stone facing the castle with all the Regiment’s battle honours – from battles as far back as the 1600s to Ypres and Gallipoli – inscribed either side of the regimental badge, which is cast in bronze.
There are seven further stone tablets which depict the history of the regiment. To the left of the main stone is the tablet which shows the formative make-up of the company in the days before it was officially raised as a Regiment in 1633. To the right of the main monolith, the six further tablets bear the dress and equipment of the Royal Scots throughout their eventful history, with a final stone plaque which was unveiled by HRH Princess Royal, Princess Anne, on 9th May 2007 to mark the end of the regiment.
Linking all the tablets is a bronze band, on which an inscription from a section of the Declaration of Arbroath can be found. It is a fitting testament to the spirit and bravery of all those who served in the Royal Scots:
“It is not for glory or riches, neither is it for honour that we fight, but it is for the sake of liberty alone, which no true man loseth, but at the cost of his own life.”